Nightingale Suite for Organ (2009)

A concert work for solo organ; based on the chamber work "The Nightingale" for narrator, flute, percussion, organ, and speaking chorus; based on the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale.

Nightingale suite snippet.jpg

Ideally suited to organs with options for a wide range of colors, The Nightingale Suite is a fanciful, showy, lighthearted concert work that draws on material from the Ramsay chamber work, The Nightingale, composed four years earlier.  The piece runs approximately 15 minutes in eight movements. Each movement depicts a different scene from the celebrated Hans Christian Andersen story:

1. The Emperor’s Palace
2. The Nightingale Sings in the Forest
3. The Cavalier
4. The Kitchen Maid
5. The Nightingale Sings to the Emperor
6. The Music Box
7. The Emperor Becomes Gravely Ill
8. The Nightingale and Emperor Reunite